Race 7

Mahurangi Night Race

Cruising Series No 4 Points Friday, 26 January 2018 HW 1507hrs 3.0m

Sponsored By:

Hella-New Zealand Ltd
81-83 Ben Lomond Cresent , Pakuranga
Auckland 2010, New Zealand

Tel: +64 (0)9 577-0000   Fax: +64 (0)9 576 -2476
Sales / Customer Service   withing New Zealand
Tel: +64 (0)9 577-0366   Fax: +64 (0)9 576 -8202 

Follow us on Facebook 

Sunset 2036hrs                                              Moonset 0156hrs


Classic A and Modern Classics: Black Flag Start 1500hrs
Classic B and Woollacott Series: Blue Flag Start 1505hrs
Mullet Boats: Yellow Flag Start 1505hrs
B Division:     Hyslop Cup Green Flag Start 1510hrs
A Division:     Barometer Trophy Orange Flag Start 1800hrs


 Destination:   Mahurangi Harbour     22.5 miles


  • Start at Devonport in an easterly direction
  • Whangaparaoa Passage Navy yellow buoy (Fl.Y 3 sec) Port,
  • Finish in a westerly direction between the finish boat and Sadler Point at the Northern entrance to Mahurangi Harbour.

Special Notices



Attention is drawn to the General Sailing Instructions regarding safety provisions. 


It is recommended that competitors wear a life jacket and approved safety harness after sunset.

DYC Fleet Finish Boat:   

The finish boat will show distinctive bluish flashing light vertically disposed and will be on station until 0200hrs Saturday 27th January. Boats finishing should endeavour to pass close to the finish boat and illuminate sail numbers.

Boats expecting to finish after 0200hrs are to call on VHF Channel 62, before 0200hrs, to advise their position. Boats finishing after 0200hrs are to take their own finishing times and advise the Sailing Committee by 1000hrs Saturday 27th.


In the event of inclement weather the sailing committee may re-schedule the race to Saturday 28h January. A Division, Classic A and Modern Classics will start at 1000hrs and B Division Woollacott, and Classic B at 1005hrs. Postponement will be recorded on the Club answer phone by 1200hrs Friday 27th .

Classic Yachts, Including Mullet Boats:   

  • Will start on a line defined by Torpedo yellow buoy in transit with the DYC Flagstaff with Torpedo buoy as inner distance mark
  • Will finish on a line due South Magnetic of Te Hapua Island South Cardinal Light and take their own finishing times if a finish boat is not on station.
  • May carry extras or dinghies in accordance with CYA rules.


 Time Limit:   There is no time limit


 After Race:   Prize giving and BBQ 1700 hrs Sunday 28th – everybody welcome.



Race Mahurangi Night Race C H'Cap Start   Times

Friday 26th January 2018   18:00:00 Finish Elapsed Corrd. Line Hcp.
# Division A Orange Flag   Y          
3374 Zeppo 0.710 Y 1:27:00 7:27:00 5:17:22 2 1
3246 Kudos 0.785 Y 1:22:00 7:22:00 5:46:58 1 2
5001 Renown 0.795 Y       DNF DNF
6028 El Barco 0.785 Y       DNF DNF
6363 Sea Biscuit 0.820 Y       DNF DNF
9051 Adikt 0.830 Y
Starts 6 Finishes 2

Race Mahurangi Night Race C H'Cap Start   Times

Friday 26th January 2018   15:10:00 Finish Elapsed Corrd. Line Hcp.
# Division B
Green Flag
1365 Reliant 0.660 Y 21:42:00 6:32:00 4:18:43 1 1
5482 Lambretta 0.730 Y 21:52:00 6:42:00 4:53:28 2 2
1882 Sunset 0.755 Y 21:59:00 6:49:00 5:08:48 3 3
876 Finesse 0.710 Y 23:27:00 8:17:00 5:52:52 4 4
      Starts 4 Finishes 4