Devonport Yacht Club
Sailing Programme 2017 - 2018

Follow us on Facebook 


Sailing Master Andy Mason 476 1934 022 659 9399
Safety Officer Kevin Johnson 445 0545 027 285 3537
Handicapper Rhys Cole 021 712 462
Committee Paul Burton 021 876 496
Committee Mark Clough 021 305 707
Committee Will Clough
Committee Emma Cliffe 021 172 8454
Committee Blair Cliffe 027 295 4426
Committee Rob Service 027 594 7899


Our Special thanks to all the following who have supported our racing programme.

Floating Dock Services 379 0934
Hull Cleaning, Maintenance, Surveys
Hammer Hardware Devonport 445 2318
Hardware and Building Supplies
Hella Marine 577 0439
Marine Electrical and Electronics
Hounsell Accounting Ltd 418 2729
Chartered Accountants
Kevin Johnson 445 0545
Devonport New World 445 1217
Scott Richardson, Locksmith 446 0982
Key Cutting, Lock Repair and Installation
Steve Nuich Panelbeaters 416 8483
Automotive Panelbeaters

And thanks to our Life Members for supporting our Icebreaker.



Sailing Programme 2017-2018

Race Date           Event           Race Start
October 2017
    Thursday 12th Skippers Briefing 1900 hrs
1   Saturday 28th Icebreaker Non Series Race 1000 hrs

November 2017
2   Saturday 4th Cruising Series Race 1 Waikalabubu 1000 hrs
3   Sunday 19th Open Regatta Round the Buoys 1000 hrs

December 2017 
4   Saturday 2nd Shorthanded Series Race 1 2-handed Round Waiheke 0900 hrs
5   Saturday 9th Cruising Series Race 2 Peter Blake. Awaawaroa. 1000 hrs
6   Sunday 10th Cruising Series Race 3 Home Again to Devonport 1000 hrs
Christmas Break

January 2018 
7   Friday 26th Cruising Series Race 4 Mahurangi Night Race 1500hrs/1800hrs
8   Sunday 28th Cruising Series Race 5 Mahurangi Round the Islands 1000 hrs
     Monday 29th Anniversary Day Race Mahurangi to Auckland TBA

February 2018
9    Saturday 3rd Waitangi Weekend on Waiheke Non Series Race 1000 hrs
10  Sunday 4th Cruising Series Race 6 Ponui Round the Islands1000hrs
      Monday 5th Club outing to Man O War Winery - See Notice For Details
11  Saturday 17th Ladies Helm Race Non Series Race 1000 hrs
12  Sunday 18th Cruising Series Race 7 Owhanake to Devonport 1300 hrs
13  Sunday 25th Open Regatta Duder Cup Regatta 1000 hrs

March 2018
14   Fri /Sun 2nd -4th Shorthanded Series Race 2 3-Handed Gulf Rally 0900 hrs
15   Saturday 10th Cruising Series Race 8 Rocky Bay 1000 hrs
16  Friday 30th Cruising Series Race 9 Easter Cruise Kawau 1000 hrs 
17  Saturday 31st Cruising Series Race 10 Kawau to Mahurangi 1000 hrs

April 2018
    Sunday 1st Easter Picnic Champagne Breakfast, Games etc 0930 hrs
18 Saturday 7th Cruising Series Race 10 Woody Bay 1000 hrs
19  Saturday 14th Shorthanded Series Race 3 Single Handed Race 0900 hrs   

May 2018 
     Saturday 26th Prizegiving 1630hrs for a 1700hrs start

Sailing Instructions

The instructions which follow are in the general form prescribed by Yachting New Zealand (YNZ). They comprise:

  • General Sailing Instructions covering matters common to all races and emphasising or amending YNZ rules where appropriate.
  • Series Notices of Race containing matters applicable to all races in a series
  • Individual Race Instructions containing courses and other details specific to individual races plus the formal Notices of Race for the two one day regattas.

The General Sailing Instructions, Notice of Race and Race Instructions as described and detailed in the Year Book take precedence over copies of the same information that may appear on the DYC website or other medium.

All race start times have been corrected for New Zealand daylight savings time where applicable.

Entry Fees as per the Notices of Race.