

Minutes of the 100th Annual General Meeting of the Devonport Yacht Club Inc Held at 7.10pm on August 3rd 2023

1. Introduction

The President, David Stone, took the chair, welcomed members and declared the 100th Annual General Meeting open. It was noted that the required quorum was achieved.

The Attendance Register is included at the back of these minutes.

2. Apologies

The following apologies were received: John Duder, Nelson & Fran Webster, Warwick Squire, Scott Richardson, Anne leech, Mark Clough, Andy & Lyn Mason, Martin & Janet Foster, Blair & Emma Cliffe, Rhys Cole.

3. Obituaries

Bill Sweetman, Sally Jacques, Trish Webley Adrian Hayman, Barbara Squires, Bruce Westbrooke, Ron Childs. A moments silence was observed. It was noted that Bruce was the longest serving member and this included 25 years as Secretary, and Ron at 101 was the oldest member at the time.

4. Acceptance of the Previous Minutes

The Chairman moved that the minutes of the AGM on 18th August 2022 be accepted. Seconded Mike Webster. Carried.

5. Matter arising from the minutes

The spelling of member name Natasha Strong for the previous minutes was corrected.

6. Commodore's Report

The Vice Commodore tabled an apology from the Commodore for his absence as he is overseas attending to a relative. His report was read by the Vice Commodore.

Sue Johnson moved that the Commodore's Report be accepted and that a vote of thanks for his service be extended. Seconded Geoff Evans. Carried.

7. Matters arising from the Commodores Report

8. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer presented the draft annual accounts for the year ended 31 May 2023. He advised that these accounts were with the auditor for review and were formatted to be in line with new Accounting Standards for Not For Profit Organisations . Highlights were displayed on the screen.

9. Matters arising from the Treasurers Report:

Nil.

10. Adoption of the Annual Accounts

Karen Webster moved that the Treasurer's Report be accepted. Seconded Mike Webster. Carried.

11. Setting of the Annual Subscriptions 2024/2025 year

The Treasurer spoke to the need for a fee increase due to inflationary pressure over the 2 years since the fees were last altered.

Mike Webster moved that the fees be set as recommended below together with the 5% discount provision for payment within 28 days. Seconded Geoff Evans. Carried.

Membership Annual Fees	Current 2022-24	Proposed 2024-25	Discounted 5%
Family	290.0	325	325.0
Individual	255.0	285	255.0
Youth	27.5	30	27.5
Associate Family	192.5	215	192.5
Associate Individual	165.0	185	165.0
Out-of -Town	140.0	155	140.0
Veteran Family	165.0	185	165.0
Veteran Individual	140.0	155	140.0
Veteran Out-of-Town	85.0	95	85.0
Life members	Nil	Nil	Nil

12. Election of Patron

Nominee: Pippa, Lady Blake Proposed: Tony Bullard Seconded: Hugh Pollock

There being no other nominees Lady Blake was declared Patron for 2023/24

13. Election of President

The President stood aside and the Vice Commodore took over chair of the meeting for this item.

Nominee: David Stone Proposed: Tony Bullard Seconded: John Ford

There being no other nominees David Stone was declared President for 2023/24

14. Election of Flag Officers:

COMMODORE

Nominee: Tony Bullard	Proposed: Mark Sigglekow	Seconded: Hugh Pollock		
There being no other nominees Tony Bullard was declared Commodore for 2023/24				

VICE COMMODORE

Nominee: Mark SigglekowProposed: Tony BullardSeconded: Garry HorneThere being no other nominees Mark Sigglekow was declared Vice Commodore 2023/24

REAR COMMODORE

Nominee: Howard WalshProposed: Mark SigglekowSeconded: Tony BullardThere being no other nominees Howard Walsh was declared Rear Commodore 2023/24

15. Election of Executive Officers

TREASURER

Nominee: Paul Treacher Proposed: Emma Cliffe Seconded: Paula Shelton

There being no other nominees Paul Treacher was declared Treasurer for 2023/24

SAILING MASTER

Nominee: Hugh MaguireProposed: Tony BullardSeconded: Brian SchlaadtThere being no other nominees Hugh Maguire was declared Sailing Master for 2023/24

HAULAGE MASTER

Nominee: Paul WalterProposed: Murray ForbesSeconded: Mark SigglekowThere being no other nominees Paul Walter was declared Haulage Master for 2023/24

CLUBHOUSE CAPTAIN

No nominations were received.

SITE MASTER

Nominee: Ken SmithProposed: Murray ForbesSeconded: Paul WalterThere being no other nominees Ken Smith was declared Site Master for 2023/24

BAR OFFICER

Nominee: Murray Forbes	Proposed: Paul Walter	Seconded: Grant Daniel		
There being no other nominees Murray Forbes was declared Bar Officer for 2023/24				
PUBLICITY OFFICER				
Nominee: Paula Shelton	Proposed: Emma Cliffe	Seconded: Mark Sigglekow		
There being no other nominees Paula Shelton was declared Publicity Officer for 2023/24				
SOCIAL OFFICER				

Nominee: Emma CliffeProposed: Paula SheltonSeconded: Mark SigglekowThere being no other nominees Emma Cliffe was declared Social Officer for 2023/24

HEALTH & SAFETY OFFICER

No nominations were received.

16. Election of up to 4 additional Officers to the Managing Committee

Nominee: Grant Daniel	Proposed: Paul Walter	Seconded: Murray Forbes
Nominee: Geoff Evans	Proposed: Howard Walsh	Seconded: Paul Walter
Nominee: Michael Yalland	Proposed: Tony Bullard	Seconded: Mark Sigglekow
Nominee: Mark Clough	Proposed: Tony Bullard	Seconded: Mark Sigglekow

Grant Daniel, Geoff Evans, Michael Yalland and Mark Clough were declared Management Committee Members for 2023/24

17. General Business

The notice of motion received from Bill Cole was discussed. This was noted to be an action item. "That the management committee review The Club Rules Part 3, Rules 5 - 10., with the intention of modifying some wording at next year's AGM or before if thought appropriate".

Natasha Strong asked how the club would be handling the changes to the Incorporated Societies Act. Tony Bullard advised that Yachting New Zealand was preparing templates as a guide for the use of clubs and that DYC would be reviewing these.

Colin Tubbs acknowledged Hugh Pollock's donation of book shelving. Colin also advised that a sale of duplicate books was proposed and members could donate books to assist this.

Graham Peterson asked about progress in supporting AYBA with the concern on reduced haul out areas. Tony Bullard advised that Mark Clough was the DYC representative for the AYBA and would be keeping us informed.

A vote of thanks from David Claridge was given to all the various committee members for the work they do and the time they put in.

Mike Strong thanked Grant Daniels for the work he has put in during his tenure as Treasurer.

The meeting was declared closed at 8:10pm.

David Stone President

Attendance List

William Atkinson Chris Biene **Tony Bullard** David Claridge Bill Cole Grant Daniel Mehdi Ebrahimpour Geoff Evans Catherine & John Ford **Rosemary Innes-Jones Bill Jacques** Sue & Kevin Johnson Chris leech Richard Loseby Hugh & Laura Maguire Huch Pollock Brian Schaadt **Paula Shelton** Marl Sigglekow **David Stone** Natasha Strong Mike Strong Chad Thompson Paul Treacher Colin Tubbs Howard Walsh Paul Walter Karen Webster Mike Webster Nigel Wilson